Business, Linguistics, Translation

Verifika!

Before I come to tell you my – very personal – opinion about this tool, I tell you its story, how I got to it.

One of my friends and colleagues posted about this tool on facebook, so I downloaded it, without thinking that I will ever need a tool like this.

After the download it, I installed it and when I opened it, there was a very unfriendly window wanting a licence key.

Nothing else opened, just this text bar….well…ok, I went to their website and learned that you can apply for a trial licence key by compiling their form.

Verifika Email sent, response got within one day – no auto service – key put in, Verifika opened.  And I already lost my interest.

It is just the same QA check, what you can find built-in in the CAT tools. So, there is a very good chance, that if you are a professional translator, you are using at least one CAT tool. If you do, you have your Verifika-like checks inside, already compatible with all the formats, which your CAT-tool produces, and you don’t need this tool.

Anyhow, since another friend of mine chased me to start blogging about all the tools, I am using, I thought, it is good to keep myself updated.

What is Verifika?

Verifika is an external tool, with which can cross-check your translations’ spelling, consistency and terminology.

Why is it useful to use any tool like this?

Well, you all know, that it is not only important, what you say, but also, how you say it. Translating is not only about choosing the right words, but also presenting your translation in a form, so that the agency/client will be satisfied.

And then, one day – like in a story – an agency has sent me a translation package, in which translation memory and term-base should have been included.

Unfortunately the term-base was only visible, but the QA check didn’t “see” it somehow…(yes, there should be another question mark here, why did this happened. Well, since I don’t pay for the costly support of SDL, which usually just comes back with the “solution” of “works-for-me”, “update-upgrade”, “buy another computer”, I rest in the position of just telling you, that there can be a situation, where an external tool is more than useful).

Well, since you can’t deliver a project without checking the terminology consistency, I thought, I will give a try to Verifika.

Verifika is very easy to use, if you are handy with how to use a software (you know, what you can usually find under the menu-point “File” and know, that to use an external file, you have to search for an “Upload“, “Import” or “Add” button somewhere, etc.)

Verifika also handles multiple formats, like in my case .sdlxliff format, which I just selected from the folder, where SDL put it.

You can add multiple files, so you can keep your terminology consistent over a long period in different projects, packages, even with different CAT tools, which is very important in our era, where all the companies want to have their legacy formats (drives me crazy).

After you upload the translation, you can add the terminology to it.

I needed some conversion here.

Verifika only accepts the tab-delimited and .xls/.xlsx formats. Well, I had to export it from Multiterm and save it in a two-column xls file, since Verifika only gets the first two columns of a sheet. (Another downside for a translator, who is not working easily with computer programs, but maybe translators, who are still working with Microsoft word and keep their terminology consistent with help of an Excel file, can benefit from this tool very well).

After I set up my first Verifika project, it was sooo fast and so easy to do the terminology check, that I really started to think about even to buy it!

After you click on the “check button”, there is a list appearing with different columns, where you see the term, its translation and its occurances in the text,  where Verifika didn’t find the desired translation.

small windowYou just click on the target term column, and change the term in the new window, which was not found by the tool. You can accept a change by hitting the Enter.

I performed a check on a 17000 word heavy translation with a term-base containing over 1000 terms in about an hour (the translation was made without using the term-base, there was plenty to do on it, but still.)

I have to say, even I told you about the built-in tools and how useless this another tool is for CAT-tool owners…I feel tempted to buy it

Standard

4 thoughts on “Verifika!

  1. Hello! Nice review; although it started not in favor for Verifika I’m glad you eventually liked it 🙂 That’s true that if you use only one CAT tool with built-in QA check functionality you’d hardly need a separate QA tool. However, it is not often the case, and even if it is (e.g. I work with Trados, but spell-checking Russian in TagEditor is a nightmare, not sure about the other languages), sometimes standalone tools still may be of use (e.g. Verifika also can check TMXes).

    OK, regarding the terminology check, MultiTerm support will soon be added, so it will be a bit more easier with terminology.

    In fact this is the first review of Verifika ever published, so thank you very much!

    Julia Makoushina,
    Verifika Team

  2. Dear Julia,
    thank you and in the same sentence, you are more than welcome for this review (?). First time for me as well, I will get better!
    I wasnt’ sure, if I like the tool at the beginning, it seemed to be a reinvention of the wheel, maybe you could emphasize, why it is so useful?

    BTW: I made this review quite smooth, but imagine, I HAD TO DELIVER IN 2 HOURS and had NO TERM CHECK available in SDL. Verifika literally saved my life! I never used it before, and it was so easy and so reliable.

    TMX check will be the next thing, I will try in it. I am preparing a TM to train a MOSES for my purposes and if Verifika can do the trick for me, I will be your slave for life!

  3. everifika says:

    Well, I think the most important thing about Verifika is that it can do all the checks together (like I already mentioned, some tools have them separated or may even not have some checks, but in Verifika you get everything in one window (though in different tabs).

    Then, you can correct the errors without opening the native file’s editor (like TagEditor for TTX or memoQ for its format). Verifika otfen suggests auto-correction (where it is possible and safe), so in this cases you can correct an error with a single mouse click.

    As soon as you save the segment, it re-checks it on the fly to make sure you didn’t occasionally insert any new error.

    And additionally, it can learn word forms in terminology check with is quite important for languages with different cases etc.

    These are just the most important advantages of Verifika, I think, and there are many more smaller ones like auto-detect of potential untranslatables, not reporting source words in spell-checking (if you want it), the fact that for the time being on the market it has never shut down unexpectedly (at least we have never received such a report, and our users, on the contrary, say that it is extremely stable).

    By the way, can we talk privately on training Moses? We’re highly interested in making Verifika a useful tool for those who need to clean their translation memories for MT, and we would like to discuss all possible checks and corrections that it should do to successfully train an MT engine.

    • Let’s talk about it, Julia, your email just popped up, I continue the discussion there with you. Thank you for completing the review, all I can say about Verifika is: WOW!!!

Leave a Reply

